Indian Premier League

#VIVOIPL 2019 : Sunrisers Hyderabad Seal Fourth Play- Offs Slot As Mumbai Indians Rout Kolkata Knight Riders By 9 Wickets

Picture : Twitter / IPL

Picture : Twitter / IPL

The Play- offs teams for the IPL 2019 has been decided. Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

So it will be Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 1 followed by Delhi Capitals play Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Eliminator.

Needing to beat Mumbai Indians in order to push the Sunrisers Hyderabad out of the tournament, the Kolkata Knight Riders fell apart on the match which mattered most. Coming out with a listless display to go down to the Mumbai Indians by 9 wickets.

Put into bat by Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma, KKR lost their way after a bright start of 49 in 6 overs. Chris Lynn showed intent with 29 ball 41 with 2 fours and four sixes. The rest did not . Shubman Gill ( 9), Robin Uthappa ( 40 )struggled hard to score and played 25 dot balls including a maiden over to Mitchell McClenaghan. Uthappa’s poor batting hurt KKR . Skipper Dinesh Karthik coming ahead of Andre Russell was a disaster . Karthik too failed to score much. Out for 3 and when Russell to fell for 0 first time in this IPL to Lasith Malinga , KKR were down and out. Nitish Rana scored 26 KKR could manage a very below par total 133 for 7 in their 20 overs. A nothing of sort total against The Mumbai Indians at Wankhede.

Mumbai bowling was spot on , Mitchell McClenaghan 0/ 19 ( 4 overs) , Krunal Pandya 0/ 14 ( 4 overs) , Lasith Malinga 3/ 35 ( 4 overs) , Jasprit Bumrah 2/ 31 ( 4 overs) , Hardik Pandya 2/ 20 ( 3 overs)

In reply Mumbai Indians were clinical, skipper Rohit Sharma leading the way with an unbeaten 55 to power his side to a nine wicket win.

Rohit, first featured in a 49-run stand with Quinton de Kock for the opening wicket and then another 88 runs for the unconquered second wicket with Suryakumar Yadav (46 not) as Mumbai Indians chased down the target of 134 with 3.5 overs to spare. De Kock was the only batsman out for 30. Mumbai reached 134/ 1 in 16.1 overs. Winning in emphatic way.

The Mumbai Indians Skipper who has not scored heavily finally carried his bat through the innings, hitting eight fours off 48 balls, while Yadav played 27 balls for his unbeaten 46.

KKR bowling did not fire at all , Sandeep Warrier 0 / 25 ( 4 overs), Harry Gurney 0/ 20 ( 3 overs) , Andre Russell 0/ 34 ( 2.1 overs) , Sunil Narine 0/ 33 ( 4 overs) , Prasidh Krishna 1/ 22 ( 3 overs)

Most Popular

To Top