#ManipurPolls2022 : First Phase For 38 Seats Votes Today ; BJP CM N Biren Singh Says Party Expects 30 Seats

Picture : Twitter / ANI

With strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols, voting for the 60 member Manipur assembly with  the first phase of the voting for 38 seats spread across five districts.

The prominent candidates in the fray include Chief Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party candidate N Biren Singh, Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand Singh, Deputy Chief Minister and National People’s Party candidate Yumnam Joykumar and Manipur Congress president N Lokesh Singh

After Casting his vote, CM N Biren Singh, Told ANI, “I’m expecting that 75% people of my constituency will vote for BJP and me. BJP is expecting at least 30 out of 38 seats in the first phase. People of Manipur like PM Modi”

Of the 38 seats, 10 constituencies are in Imphal East, 13 in Imphal West, six each in Bishnupur and Churachandpur, and three in Kangpokpi district.

The BJP has fielded candidates in all the 38 seats, followed by the Congress with 35 contestants, the NPP with 27, the Janata Dal-United with 28, the Shiv Sena with seven, the Republican Party of India (Athawale) with six, the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) with three, and the Kuki National Assembly and Kuki People’s Alliance with two each.

The voting for the remaining 22 seats  will take place in the second phase on March 5 while the counting of votes will be held on March 10.

Most Popular

To Top