#DelhiMayor : AAP Has The last Laugh , Shelly Oberoi Elected Mayor With 150 Votes ; Beats BJP’s Rekha Gupta

AAP party has the last laugh finally . It’s candidate Shelly Oberoi was elected as the new mayor of Delhi with 150 votes in her kitty. She is first-time councillor from Delhi’s East Patel Nagar.

AAP’s Shelly Oberoi defeated BJP’s Rekha Gupta by a margin of 34 votes to become the mayor of Delhi, MCD officials announced . Oberoi polled 150 votes while Gupta received 116 votes out of the total 266 votes polled.

I assure you all that I will run this House in a constitutional manner. I expect you all will maintain the dignity of the House and cooperate in its smooth functioning, Delhi Mayor Shelly Oberoi was quoted as saying by ANI

Reacting to the win AAP MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj told ANI, Goondaism has lost, the public has won. BJP wanted to make its own mayor by cheating. I congratulate Shelly Oberoi on her election as Delhi mayor. Next, Ale Iqbal will become the deputy mayor.

Earlier, Voting began today to elect the new mayor of Delhi as the municipal House met after three previous failed attempts to hold the election to the top post.

BJP MPs Meenakashi Lekhi and Hans Raj Hans were among the firsts to cast their votes. Other BJP MPs — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, Harsh Vardhan, Gautam Gambhir, Ramesh Bidhuri and Manoj Tiwari — and AAP MPs Sanjay Singh, N D Gupta and Sushil Kumar Gupta have also exercised their franchise. AAP MLAs Durgesh Pathak and Atishi have also caste their votes.

After Shelly Oberoi emerged victorious Delhi deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia tweeted

AAP’s Rajya Sabha MP  Sanjay Singh tweeted

Most Popular

To Top