Citizenship Amendment Act 2019 : Punjab Too Hardens Stand, Not To Implement In State

Punjab joins the list of states that has refused  to implement the Citizenship Amendment Act setting the stage of confrontation with the Centre. Punjab CM Captain Amarinder Singh’s office said that their government will not allow the implementation of the CAA in Punjab and the Congress will continue to fight it tooth and nail.

Maharashtra, Kerala, Rajasthan, West Bengal, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh have already declared they will not be implementing the CAA.

Major protests were held across the country against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, which grants Indian citizenship to refugees from Hindu, Christian, Sikh, Buddhist and Parsi communities fleeing religious persecution from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh, who entered India on or before December 31, 2014.

Most Popular

To Top