B S Yediyurappa Becomes Karnataka Chief Minister For The Fourth Time, To Seek Trust Vote On July 29

Picture : Twitter / ANI

Picture : Twitter / ANI

In yet another twist in the Karnataka politics , BJP veteran B S Yediyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of the state for a fourth time .

Shortly after taking the oath, Yediyurappa said he would move a motion of confidence in the assembly on July 29 to prove his majority.

Yediyurappa alone took the oath succeeding H D Kumaraswamy three days after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government crumbled under the weight of a rebellion by a big chunk of its lawmakers, 20 of whom were absent for the voting that led to the defeat of its trust vote by 99-105.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 76-year old Yediyurappa, credited with leading the BJP to its first ever government in the south in 2008, at a brief function in the Raj Bhavan, which was boycotted by JD-S and Congress leaders.

Most Popular

To Top